28 March 2021

Human and women’s rights: 365 days a year!

Read this article in Deutsch

What does courage mean? Would you be brave enough yourself to stand up for others who need support or help? What if the situation could affect your own life? These were the questions that Moscow-based artist Katerina Voronina grappled with when she took part in Amnesty International’s competition to design a “Brave Wall” to mark International Women’s Day, organised in cooperation with the URBAN NATION Museum.


A “Brave Wall” in the heart of Berlin-Kreuzberg that encourages people to stand up for human and women’s rights and is the first of its kind in Germany: Katerina Voronina’s inspiration for the design of the façade on Gitschiner Straße was the story of the Brazilian city councillor and human rights campaigner Marielle Franco, who was murdered in Rio de Janeiro on 14 March 2018. As a bisexual black woman, Marielle Franco stood up for human rights and minorities, especially for the rights of the black population and the inhabitants of the favelas where she lived herself.

When we meet Katerina Voronina, who has lived in Berlin for two years, in front of the “Brave Wall”, she tells us what inspired this theme. Long conversations with her Brazilian roommate about the fight against corruption in Brazil and in Russia were part of this. This is another reason why Katerina Voronina’s façade theme reflects Marielle Franco’s courage and unshakable stance.

Kate Voronina paints the "Brave Wall" for Urban Nation and Amnesty International for International Women's Day,
The “Brave Wall” in Kreuzberg – a challenge for Katerina Voronina.

What does it mean to be brave?

Katerina Voronina believes that not all courage is the same: “Those who have nothing to fear have a human duty to help those who need it. This is normal, there is nothing to discuss. But if you risk your life doing it, then it is really very courageous.” She would like it if people did not have to discuss human and women’s rights in the 21st century any more. She is all the more grateful that she can live a free life. The possibilities of different journeys through life are symbolised on the “Brave Wall”: the scientist, the student, a leader or a musician. Through her work, Katerina Voronina wants to show that the freedom to choose our own path in life is independent of age, who we love or what religion we belong to.

The first “Brave Wall” in Germany consistently ties in with the topic of “the defenders of women’s rights and human rights” as one of central themes of Amnesty International’s “Women Human Rights Defenders” (WHRD) and the “Stand Up For The Brave” campaign. Women Human Rights Defenders includes women who stand up for people of all genders, for human rights relating to women and for gender equality. The “Brave Wall” aims to enhance the visibility and recognition of human rights defenders and their work in the public arena.

Kate Voronina paints the "Brave Wall" for Urban Nation and Amnesty International for International Women's Day,
Artist Katerina Voronina (right) and Emily Eldridge preparing to climb and work on the “Brave Wall” on Gitschiner Straße.

Fear of heights and keep going!

Creating the “Brave Wall” was both a mental and physical challenge for Katerina Voronina. On the one hand because of the important message she wanted to convey and on the other because of her fear of heights. This made working on the “Brave Wall” a real triumph for Katerina Voronina. She was supported by her colleague, American artist Emily Eldridge, who assisted her, even though she herself is also a little afraid of heights. “Every day, Emily told me not to look down, just keep going,” laughs Katerina Voronina. That’s probably how it is with courage: just keep going. Encouragement and coffee from residents’ balconies also helped against the fear of heights.

But giving interviews is also a new experience for Katerina Voronina; she usually expresses herself with illustrations. She would like to contemplate some questions a little longer – so she takes her time: “Short, quick answers are not always the right ones when it comes to the important issues of human and women’s rights,” she believes.

Thank you for the interview, Karerina Voronina!

Photos © Nika Kramer, Amnesty International


weitere Artikel

28. März 2021

Menschen- und Frauenrechte: 365 Tage im Jahr!

Read this article in English

Was bedeutet Mut? Wäre man selbst mutig genug, um sich für andere einzusetzen, die Unterstützung oder Hilfe brauchen? Was, wenn die Situation das eigene Leben beeinflussen könnte? Mit diesen Fragen hat sich die aus Moskau stammende Künstlerin Katerina Voronina auseinandergesetzt, als sie an dem Wettbewerb von Amnesty International zur Gestaltung einer „Brave Wall“ anlässlich des Internationalen Frauentages teilnahm, der in Kooperation mit dem URBAN NATION Museum veranstaltet wurde.


Eine „Brave Wall“ mitten in Berlin-Kreuzberg, die Mut macht, sich für Menschen- und Frauenrechte einzusetzen, und die die erste ihrer Art in Deutschland ist: Für die Gestaltung der Fassade in der Gitschiner Straße in Kreuzberg hat sich Katerina Voronina von der Geschichte der brasilianischen Stadträtin und Menschenrechtskämpferin Marielle Franco inspirieren lassen, die am 14. März 2018 in Rio de Janeiro ermordet wurde. Als schwarze bisexuelle Frau setzte sich Marielle Franco für Menschenrechte und Minderheiten ein, insbesondere für die Rechte der schwarzen Bevölkerung und der BewohnerInnen der Favelas, in denen sie selber gelebt hat.

Als wir uns mit Katerina Voronina, die seit zwei Jahren in Berlin lebt, vor der „Brave Wall“ treffen, erzählt sie, was sie zu diesem Motiv inspiriert hat. Dazu gehören unter anderem lange Gespräche mit ihrer brasilianischen Mitbewohnerin über den Kampf gegen Korruption in Brasilien und in Russland. Auch deshalb spiegelt das Fassadenmotiv von Katerina Voronina den Mut und die unerschütterliche Haltung von Marielle Franco wider.

Kate Voronina paints the "Brave Wall" for Urban Nation and Amnesty International for International Women's Day,
Die Kreuzberger „Brave Wall“ – eine Herausforderung für
Katerina Voronina.

Was bedeutet es, mutig zu sein?

Katerina Voronina glaubt, dass Mut nicht gleich Mut ist: „Wenn man nichts zu befürchten hat, ist es eine menschliche Pflicht, jemandem zu helfen, der Hilfe benötigt. Das ist normal, da gibt es nichts zu diskutieren. Aber wenn man dabei sein Leben riskiert, dann ist es wirklich sehr mutig.“ Sie würde sich wünschen, dass man über Menschen- und Frauenrechte im 21. Jahrhundert nicht mehr diskutieren muss. Umso dankbarer ist sie, dass sie ein freies Leben führen kann. So sind auf der „Brave Wall“ die Möglichkeiten verschiedener Lebenswege symbolisiert: die Wissenschaftlerin, die Studentin, eine Anführerin oder eine Musikerin. Katerina Voronina will mit ihrer Arbeit zeigen, dass die Freiheit, sich im Leben für eigene Weg zu entscheiden, unabhängig vom Alter und der Art ist, wen man liebt oder welcher Religion man angehört.

Die erste „Brave Wall“ in Deutschland knüpft konsequent an das Thema „Frauenrechte und Menschenrechtsverteidigerinnen“ als eines der Schwerpunktthemen der „Women Human Rights Defenders“ (WHRD) von Amnesty International und der „Mut braucht Schutz“-Kampagne an. Zu den „Women Human Rights Defenders“ gehören Frauen, die sich für Menschen jeden Geschlechts, für Menschenrechte in Bezug auf Frauen und für Geschlechtergerechtigkeit einsetzen. Mit der „Brave Wall“ soll die Sichtbarkeit und Anerkennung von MenschenrechtsverteidigerInnen sowie deren Arbeit im öffentlichen Raum gestärkt werden.

Kate Voronina paints the "Brave Wall" for Urban Nation and Amnesty International for International Women's Day,
Künstlerin Katerina Voronina (rechts) und Emily Eldridge bei der Vorbereitung für den Aufstieg und Arbeit an der „Brave Wall“ in der Gitschiner Straße.

Höhenangst und weitermachen!

Die Gestaltung der „Brave Wall“ war eine Herausforderung für Katerina Voronina, mental und körperlich. Zum einen wegen der wichtigen Botschaft, die sie vermitteln wollte, zum anderen wegen ihrer Höhenangst. Die machte die Arbeit an der „Brave Wall“ zu einer echten Überwindung für Katerina Voronina. Unterstützung bekam sie von ihrer Kollegin, der amerikanischen Künstlerin Emily Eldridge, die ihr assistierte, obwohl sie ebenfalls nicht frei von Höhenangst ist. „Emily hat mir jeden Tag gesagt, ich soll nicht nach unten schauen, sondern einfach weitermachen“, lacht Katerina Voronina. So ist es wahrscheinlich mit dem Mut: einfach weitermachen. Gegen die Höhenangst halfen auch der Zuspruch und der Kaffee vom Balkon der AnwohnerInnen.

Aber auch Interviews zu geben ist für Katerina Voronina eine neue Erfahrung, drückt sie sich doch normalerweise mit Illustrationen aus. Gern möchte sie über manche Fragen etwas länger nachdenken – und so nimmt sie sich die Zeit: „Kurze, schnelle Antworten sind bei den wichtigen Themen Menschen- und Frauenrechte nicht immer die richtigen“, findet sie.

Danke Katerina Voronina für das Gespräch!

YouTube
Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

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

Fotos © Nika Kramer, Amnesty International


weitere Artikel