Karen Stuke stayathome
28 April 2021

#stayathome: The Karl-Marx-Allee turned upside down

Read this article in Deutsch

The photographer Karen Stuke has been living on the Karl-Marx-Allee for 20 years now and with her camera obscura, has been keeping a photographic record of the avenue between the television tower and Frankfurter Tor since the beginning of the first lockdown: experimental and as a reverse image.


When Karen Stuke looks out of her window on the sixth floor, she is able to see the flag flying over the “Rotes Rathaus” (Town Hall) and a tree that is getting denser year by year. Her apartment is in Block C Süd (South) on the Karl-Marx-Allee, which Gewobag assumed ownership of in 2019. This had been preceded by residents’ protests with the aim of preventing a takeover by Deutsche Wohnen.When the pandemic started, Karen Stuke, out of necessity, converted her home into a creative haven and photographic set.

Karen Stuke wohnt in der Karl-Marx-Allee.
Karen Stuke in her neighbourhood, the Karl-Marx-Allee. Photo © Jörg Dedering

Karen Stuke, can you explain the camera obscura in a lay person’s language?

Karen Stuke: It works like an enormous eye. You black out a room and punch a small hole in the cardboard in front of the window, for example. That then functions as the lens, the pupil. From this, one can work out how large the hole must be in relation to the room, in order for the projected image to be sharp.

How long did it take you to come up with the idea for the series of photographs “#stayathome”?

Karen Stuke: After everything had closed during the first lockdown, I pretty soon began to concern myself artistically with the topic “stay at home”. And, thanks to my work with the camera obscura, the creation of spaces in which the outside world is reversed and turned upside down was not a new idea for me either.

Die Wohnung von Karen Stuke an der Karl-Marx-Allee.
From the series “#stayathome”: In Karen Stuke’s flat, the outside world is turned upside down

What is the significance of the projected images of the Karl-Marx-Allee in the interior world of your flat?

Karen Stuke: For me, it was about exploring the questions of where I am living and why I am living here. I became even more intensely aware of this during the protests against the possible takeover by Deutsche Wohnen two years ago – and, since the pandemic, all the more so. As I was recently making my way to my car, I looked to the right and saw the Frankfurter Tor and to the left and saw the television tower – and that was when the thought that clinched it came to me: you are right there where you want to be.

What are your plans for a return to a “normal life”?

Karen Stuke: I hope that many cancelled orders will be won back and that exhibitions that have been cancelled can take place. My photos often travelled to exhibitions in other countries during the past year. They have done more travelling than I have myself.

Where and when will we be able to see “#stayathome”?

Karen Stuke: At the moment in the Museum of Art in Bochum, in June they will be presented at the “f2 Fotofestival” in Dortmund and after that in an exhibition in Rumania.

What do you wish for the summer of 2021?

Karen Stuke: It seems a bit profane to say that everything should return to normal. I am completely worldly in that respect and hope my parents stay well.

Thank you very much for this interview!

Photos © Karen Stuke, Felix Seyfert


weitere Artikel

Karen Stuke stayathome
28. April 2021

#stayathome: Die Karl-Marx-Allee steht Kopf

Read this article in English

Die Fotografin Karen Stuke ist seit 20 Jahren in der Karl-Marx-Allee zu Hause und hat die Allee zwischen Fernsehturm und Frankfurter Tor seit Beginn des ersten Lockdowns mit ihrer Camera obscura abgebildet: experimentell und seitenverkehrt.


Wenn Karen Stuke aus ihrem Fenster im sechsten Stock schaut, kann sie die Flagge auf dem Roten Rathaus sehen und einen Baum, der von Jahr zu Jahr dichter wird. Ihre Wohnung gehört zum Block C Süd in der Karl-Marx-Allee, der 2019 von der Gewobag übernommen worden ist. Dem waren AnwohnerInnenproteste vorausgegangen, um eine Übernahme durch die Deutsche Wohnen zu verhindern. Mit Beginn der Pandemie hat Karen Stuke gezwungenermaßen ihr Zuhause zum kreativen Rückzugsort und fotografischen Set umfunktioniert.

Karen Stuke wohnt in der Karl-Marx-Allee.
Karen Stuke in ihrem Kiez, der Karl-Marx-Allee. Foto © Jörg Dedering

Karen Stuke, können Sie die Camera obscura für einen Laien erklären?

Karen Stuke: Sie funktioniert wie ein großes Auge. Man verdunkelt einen Raum und macht zum Beispiel ein kleines Loch in die Pappe am Fenster. Das ist dann die Linse, die Pupille. Dabei kann man ausrechnen, wie groß das Loch im Verhältnis zum Raum sein muss, damit die Projektion scharf wird.

Wie lange hat es gedauert, bis Sie die Idee zu der fotografischen Serie #stayathome hatten?

Karen Stuke: Als im ersten Lockdown alles zugemacht hatte, habe ich ziemlich schnell angefangen, mich künstlerisch mit dem Thema „zu Hause bleiben“ zu beschäftigen. Auch war es für mich durch meine Arbeit mit der Camera obscura kein neues Thema, dass man Räume schafft, wo die Außenwelt seitenverkehrt ist und auf dem Kopf steht.

Die Wohnung von Karen Stuke an der Karl-Marx-Allee.
Aus der Serie #stayathome: In der Wohnung von Karen Stuke steht die Außenwelt auf dem Kopf.

Welche Bedeutung haben die Projektionen von der Karl-Marx-Alle in die Innenwelt Ihrer Wohnung?

Karen Stuke: Mir ging es darum, mich damit auseinanderzusetzen, wo ich wohne und warum ich hier wohne. Während der Proteste gegen die mögliche Übernahme durch die Deutsche Wohnen vor zwei Jahren ist mir das noch stärker bewusst geworden – und durch die Pandemie erst recht. Als ich vor Kurzem zu meinem Auto lief, sah ich rechts auf das Frankfurter Tor und links auf den Fernsehturm – und da war er, der entscheidende Gedanke: Du bist genau da, wo du sein willst.

Welche Pläne gibt es für die Rückkehr zum „normalen Leben“?

Karen Stuke: Ich hoffe, dass viele abgesagte Aufträge wieder reinkommen und abgesagte Ausstellungen stattfinden. Meine Bilder sind im letzten Jahr oft zu Ausstellungen ins Ausland gereist. Sie sind mehr gereist als ich.

Wann und wo sind die Arbeiten von #stayathome zu sehen?

Karen Stuke: Aktuell im Kunstmuseum Bochum, im Juni in Dortmund beim „f2 Fotofestival“ und danach bei einer Ausstellung in Rumänien.

Ihre Wünsche für den Sommer 2021?

Karen Stuke: Es ist fast profan zu sagen, dass alles wieder normal sein sollte.Ich bin da ganz weltlich und hoffe, dass meine Eltern gesund bleiben.

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch!

Fotos © Karen Stuke, Felix Seyfert


weitere Artikel